On countries

Originally posted here: https://fetlife.com/users/624588/posts/3190585

I love Greece at about the mildest degree to which someone can love their own country. What this means is that I do indeed love Greece, but I am quick to voice my opposition to patriotism and the illusions of grandeur that it usually stems from. Your place of birth is purely a matter of chance, and it is pointless to be proud of a chance event. Yes, the nature here in Greece is beautiful, but what role did you play in this? The suggestion that your place of birth could conceivably matter in who you are inevitably calls upon the concept of race, so patriotism is inextricably racism. Would all racists please go fuck yourselves? Thank you.

The only kind of thing worth being proud of is accomplishments, of which modern Greeks have very little to show. On the contrary, modern Greeks are internationally either laughed at, despised, or pitied, (usually with good reasons in each case,) so to be proud of being Greek today indicates a rather severe disconnect from reality. I am also sick and tired of Greeks boasting about accomplishments of some largely different set of people who inhabited this land thousands of years ago, and I find it ludicrous that the average modern Greek, who identifies themselves as christian, dares to call upon the ancient civilization whenever it suits them, given that it was christianity which in fact wiped out almost every trace of the ancient civilization with extreme prejudice. Get a grip on reality, people!

I got my education in the USA. This has undeniably had some impact on my character and my worldviews, but you have no idea what that impact was, and your assumptions are, more likely than not, all wrong. I enjoy defending the USA when dealing with people who hate the USA, as much as I enjoy trashing the USA when dealing with people who love the USA, because they usually hate or love the USA for all the wrong reasons. (While, of course, I hate it or love it for all the right ones.)

One thing I can tell you is that if USAians vote Bernie just once, I might be willing to forgive them for having voted Bush thrice!

Leave a Reply

